Tags

,

As a guy, what you wear on your feet may not be your #1 concern. Most guys I see devote absolutely no thought whatsoever to their footwear. It’s not uncommon for me to see men, and sometimes women, wearing athletic shoes with jeans. To me this look screams, “I don’t care at all about what I look like I just grabbed something to shove my feet into as I stumbled out the door.” The fact that the person is wearing jeans tells me that they are not intending to do any serious physical activity, but their footwear tells me otherwise. You can do better than that! Leave your athletic shoes at the gym and invest in a pair of leather footwear.

I discovered the Clarks desert boot 2 years ago and I’ve been wearing them ever since. What makes them so great? For starters, they are incredibly versatile. I wear them with both jeans and chinos (khakis). You can dress them up or dress them down. I wear the same boots with jeans and a t-shirt to a summer BBQ and with chinos and a blazer to work. It’s a great boot to purchase if you still don’t want to think too much about what you’re wearing on your feet. The boot also affords you seasonal versatility. Since the boot is unlined it is perfect for summer weather and can be worn with thick thermal socks in the winter, to keep your feet warm. I wear my boots 12 months out of the year.

At around $100 dollars they are more expensive than your average athletic shoe but their quality is well worth it. Clarks is a trusted footwear maker and their products stand the test of time. I bought my pair of desert boots for $100 dollars 2 years ago and they are still in great shape. Over the time that I’ve owned the boots I’ve probably worn them, on average, every other day. They just get better with age! The leather starts to age and take on a lived-in appearance, which I prefer to the look of brand new leather.

You can purchase Clarks desert boots, in any number of colors, at multiple places on-line and in stores. I purchased mine on Amazon. The boot in the picture is available here for $79

 

You can also find other boots that are similar to the Clarks desert boot in many other retailers. Here’s a popular version by J. Crew ($135)

I rest my case.

-Chadwick

